Old Austerlitz is a museum of historic homes and buildings from the 18th and 19th centuries in the beautiful Green River Valley of Columbia County, NY. There are period rooms, exhibits, an art gallery, shop and spectacular grounds to explore. It is also a showcase for contemporary art, craft, and music.
The original Austerlitz School House dates from 1814 and remained the last one-room schoolhouse in the district, closing in 1955. The school was actually moved a number of yards south to its present location in the 1890’s to make room for a private horse trotting track!
The Harvey House, circa 1775, was originally located in East Canaan, Connecticut. Slated for demolition, it was relocated to Old Austerlitz in 2001. Today, the Harvey House serves as the home to The Shop at Old Austerlitz. The shop offers souvenirs, antiques, art and local made products.
The Austerlitz Christian Church was built in 1853 and remained active until the early 1960’s. Originally built for the now obscure “Christian Connexion” denomination, it also did service as a Lutheran church. Today the church is preserved as a museum and art gallery, showing works by contemporary artists.
The Morey-Devereaux House circa 1794, is named for the family who owned and occupied it for five generations. Today the home contains period decorated rooms, exhibit space, the research library, and the administrative offices of the historical society.
The Morey-Devereaux Barn, circa 1794, contains a fascinating exhibit of farm equipment from our collection and also serves as a meeting space and venue for special events.
The Morey-Devereaux Carriage Shed is a reconstruction of the original shed that once served the Morey-Devereaux family. The shed now contains items from our collection of unusual farm machinery and tools.
The Robert Engel Blacksmith Shop is a working shop, circa 1850’s. The shop is open to local blacksmiths and is frequently in use!
The Robert Herron Home was once the home of antiques dealer and founding member Robert Herron. It is actually two houses in one; Mr. Herron joined two historic Austerlitz houses together to create this unique home.
The Sauers House dates from 1770, while the Kellogg House is circa 1810. Both houses are decorated with an extensive collection of 18th and 19th century antiques. Today the home is part of the Robert Herron Trust which was created for the benefit of Old Austerlitz and the historical society.
The Varney House, circa early 1800’s, is also a part of the Robert Herron Trust. The home contains period furnishings and the side enclosed porch served as the Austerlitz Post Office from 1935 through 1960. We hope to provide tours of this home soon.